The Legislature elected June 18, 1956, is the 43rd in New Brunswick's history and the 16th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years.

The Premier receives \$5,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. The salary of each Cabinet Minister is \$7,500, the amount paid as indemnity to each Member of the House of Assembly is \$2,400, plus an additional \$1,200 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$3,000. An allowance of \$1,000 in addition to the regular indemnity is made to the Speaker.

17.—Legislatures and Premiers of New Brunswick 1935-57 and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1957 Legislatures 1935-57:

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of	
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution	
June 27, 1935 Nov. 20, 1939 Aug. 28, 1944 June 28, 1948 Sept. 22, 1952 June 18, 1956	11th	4 5 4 4 4 2	Mar. 5, 1936 Apr. 4, 1940 Feb. 20, 1945 Mar. 8, 1949 Feb. 12, 1953 Feb. 21, 1957	Oct. 26, 1939 July 10, 1944 May 18, 1948 July 16, 1952 Apr. 17, 1956	

¹ The Ministries from 1935-57 were: 20th Ministry sworn in July 16, 1935 under the leadership of Hon. A. A. Dysart; 21st Ministry sworn in Mar. 13, 1940 under the leadership of Hon. J. B. McNair; 22nd Ministry sworn Oct. 8, 1952 under the leadership of Hon. H. J. Flemming.

² Life of Legislature not expired at Mar. 31, 1957.

Twenty-Second Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 18, 1956: 37 Conservatives and 15 Liberals.)

Norg.—Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment		Date of Present Appointment	
Premier and Minister of Public Works Attorney General Provincial Secretary-Treasurer. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Health and Social Services. Minister of Lands and Mines. Minister of Education Minister of Labour. Minister of Industry and Development. Minister of Industry and Development. Minister of Municipal Affairs and President of the Executive Council. Minister without portfolio and Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission.	Hon. Hugh John Flemming Hon. William J. West Hon. D. D. Patterson Hon. C. B. Sherwood. Hon. J. F. McInerney Hon. N. B. Buchanan Hon. Claude D. Taylor Hon. Arthur E. Skaling. Hon. J. Koger Pichette Hon. T. Barbitt Parlee Hon. Edgar Fournier.	Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct.	8, 1952 8, 1952	Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct. Oct.	8, 1952 8, 1952 8, 1952 8, 1952 8, 1952 8, 1952 8, 1952 8, 1952 1, 1954 8, 1952 8, 1952

Subsection 5.—Quebec

The Government of Quebec consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council, and a bicameral legislature—the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly. The Honourable Gaspard Fauteux, Lieutenant-Governor at Mar. 31, 1957, was commissioned to office Oct. 3, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 90.

The Legislative Council has 24 members nominated for life by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Legislative Assembly has 93 elected members and, like the Legislative Council, has the power to bring forward Bills relating to civil and administrative matters and to the amendment or repeal of laws that already exist. A Bill to be approved by the